Rams Take 6-1 Win Over Chowan to Win Back-to-Back CIAA Championships

PETERSBURG, VA- The Winston-Salem State University Rams (34-17) earned their second consecutive CIAA Baseball Championship with a 6-1 victory over Chowan University Saturday afternoon at Whaley Colbert Field. The Rams took the win behind some stellar defensive play, along with some quality offensive efforts.

WSSU shortstop Paco Martin was an immovable force defensively on Saturday and was named the MVP of the 2012 Championship. He turned in 10 ground ball assists and was 2-4 at the plate with an RBI and a run scored. His RBI single in the bottom of the third inning got the Rams on the board gave the Rams the first run of the game. Then, an RBI ground rule double by Aaron Jones scored Martin and WSSU (34-17) went up 2-0. In the bottom of the fourth an RBI single by Michael Robbins scored Devin McLemore to give the Rams a 3-0 advantage.

The Hawks (26-23) finally got on the board in the top of the seventh inning. After being held to just two hits over the first six innings, Chowan collected three in their half of the inning. Ryan Moore led off the inning with a double and was driven in on a single by Dallas Perdue.

After the Rams loaded the bases in their half of the eighth, any glimmer of a Hawk comeback were quickly dimmed when Dominique Fitzgerald cleared the bases with a standup double for final point spread (6-1).

WSSU senior Wesley Edwards, who entered the game in the seventh inning for starting pitcher Scott Wells, faced eight batters to earn the save.


The 2012 CIAA Baseball All Tournament Team

Travis Moore - Designated Hitter (Winston-Salem State)

Nick Christopher-Utility (Virginia State)

Tyler Hickernell- Pitcher (Winston-Salem State)

Sheldon Johnson- Pitcher (Winston-Salem State)

Brandon Mack- Short Stop (Chowan)

Justin Bagbey- First Base (Chowan)

German Reyes- Second Base (Winston-Salem State)

Paco Martin- Short Stop (Winston-Salem State)

Josh Catalano- Center Field (Chowan)

Ryan Bradshaw- Pitcher (Chowan)

Joshua Markins- Third Base (Virginia State)

Dominique Fitzgerald- Left Field (Winston-Salem State)

2012 CIAA Baseball Championship MVP

Paco Martin- Short Stop (Winston-Salem State)