WSSU Rams Awarded #1 Seed In Super Region One For NCAA DII Playoffs

INDIANAPOLIS — The Division II Football Committee announced Sunday the field of 24 teams for the 2012 Division II Football Championship, and the #2 Winston-Salem State University Rams were awarded the top seed in Super Region One, and will receive a first round bye.

Eight first-round games will be conducted on the campus of one of the competing schools. In addition, two teams per super regional have earned first-round byes. The first-round winners will all advance to face a bye team in their super regional in the second round on the campus of one of the competing schools.  

Second-round winners will meet in the quarterfinals at various campus sites. Quarterfinal winners will advance to play in the semifinals on the campus of one of the competing schools. Six teams selected per super regional make up the field of 24 teams.

Contests will normally kick off at 1 p.m. ET, although other times may be established if approved by the committee.

Winston-Salem State will face the winner of the Shippenburg (10-1) vs. Bloomsburg (10-1) contest on November 24th. Kickoff time is set for 12:00pm on November 24th.

WSSU made a historic run throught he DII Playoffs a year ago, making it all the way to the national semifinals before falling 21-14 to Wayne State. The Rams are the only final four team from 2011 to make the field in 2012.

Pittsburg State defeated Wayne State (Mich.) in the 2011 national championship game to claim last year's NCAA title. The 2012 championship game will be played Dec. 15, at 1 p.m. ET at Braly Municipal Stadium in Florence, Ala., and will be broadcast live on ESPN2 HD and