Rams Picked to Finish Fourth in CIAA Predictions; Four Rams Named to Pre-Season All-CIAA Team


CHARLOTTE, NC – The Winston-Salem State Rams will look to prove the predictors wrong in the upcoming season as the team was picked to finish fourth overall and third in their division in the 2019 Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) Predicted Order of Finish. The Rams will have a lot of talent to do it with as four WSSU players were selected for the 2019 CIAA Preseason All-Conference team.

The Rams earned the preseason prediction after a very successful 2018 season. The team finished the season with a 16-15 overall record and a 14-4 record in CIAA play. Of the three teams picked ahead of them in the predictions, the Rams notched wins over two of the three teams ranked ahead of them last season, including taking a five-set win over the predicted top team, Virginia State.

There will be a lot for the team to work with as the team had several players honored with spots on the preseason all-conference team. Senior outside hitter Ytae Cobb earned a spot at the outside hitter position after totaling 281 kills and ranking third in the CIAA in total kills. She was also a first team All-CIAA selection last season. She is joined on the team by fellow Rams Danyale Berry and Alexis Gregson-Hammond. Berry finished last season as the CIAA leader with 283 total kills while Gregson-Hammond added 151 kills with 56 total blocks (51 solo). Sophomore Myra Wallace was also selected at the Libero position as she totaled 238 digs with 29 service aces.

The Winston-Salem State Rams will open the 2019 season, Friday, September 6th when the team hosts the Erskine Fleet in a 6:00 p.m. match. The Rams will return to action, Saturday, September 7th when they host the Benedict Tigers at 2:00 p.m.

For more information on Rams volleyball, contact the WSSU Office of Athletic Media Relations at (336) 750-2143 or log on to www.WSSURams.com.


2019 CIAA Volleyball Predicted Order of Finish

  1. Virginia State
  2. Fayetteville State
  3. Shaw
  4. Winston-Salem State
  5. Johnson C. Smith
  6. Claflin
  7. Virginia Union
  8. Bowie State
  9. Livingstone
  10. Saint Augustine's
  11. Elizabeth City State
  12. Lincoln (Pa.)

Northern Division

  1. Virginia State
  2. Virginia Union
  3. Bowie State
  4. Elizabeth City State
  5. Lincoln (Pa.)

Southern Division

  1. Fayetteville State
  2. Shaw
  3. Winston-Salem State
  4. Johnson C. Smith
  5. Claflin
  6. Livingstone
  7. Saint Augustine's